Layer 2 blockchain · settles to Ethereum
Lisk ticker LSK
Shutdown announced for Oct 31, 2026. It was still running at its last profile review; see the system note below.
Summary
Optimistic rollup on Ethereum. A single sequencer orders transactions into 2-second L2 blocks; L2BEAT lists one batch-submitter address, which the Gelato multisig that owns the chain's system configuration can change, and no source read names who runs the sequencer day to day; batch data is posted to Ethereum, and nodes derive the L2 chain from those Ethereum inputs. State roots are proposed and challenged only by permissioned parties: the Superchain Registry lists Lisk's fault proofs as permissioned, and L2BEAT reports that the deployed dispute games cannot run for Lisk because its chain ID is missing from the proof program's release, so security rests on the permissioned proposer and challenger. Users can force transactions in through Ethereum with up to a 12-hour delay. Block production uses no stake or work of its own. Lisk has announced that the chain stops on 31 October 2026. 1261011121314
Design
- System
- Layer 2 blockchainLisk Mainnet (chain ID 1135) is an optimistic rollup on Ethereum built with the OP Stack, with Gelato as its rollup-as-a-service provider. ETH pays gas; LSK, an ERC-20 token, served staking and Lisk DAO votes, both now closing. It replaced Lisk's own layer 1, which stopped at height 24,823,618 on 21 May 2024. Lisk has announced that the chain shuts down on 31 October 2026. It was still producing blocks when read on 2026-09-29, so it is profiled as a live layer 2; after the shutdown it should be reclassified as a chain that no longer runs and described as history.
- Settles to
- EthereumBatch data is posted to Ethereum; the Superchain Registry records Ethereum data availability. Withdrawals through the Lisk Bridge take about 8 days: a prove transaction on Ethereum about an hour after the withdrawal, then a 7-day wait before the claim, per Lisk. L2BEAT lists a challenge period of 3 days 12 hours for a proposed state root. Lisk says a withdrawal still waiting when the chain closes on 31 October 2026 may not complete, and assets left on the chain after that date become inaccessible.
- Settlement family
- Ethereum / EVM
- Scarce resource
- Other
- State model
- Accounts
- Finality
- Other
- Who makes blocks
- One sequencer. L2BEAT lists its batch-submitter address without naming an operator and shows that a Gelato 3-of-4 multisig, which owns the chain's system configuration, can replace that address; Lisk's docs name Gelato as the chain's rollup-as-a-service provider. Output proposals come from one permissioned proposer address, and the permissioned challenger is a Gelato 3-of-4 multisig, per L2BEAT. If the sequencer censors or stops, users can send transactions to the portal contract on Ethereum, which the chain must include within its sequencing window of up to 12 hours.
- Fork choice
- No open L2 fork choice: the canonical chain is what nodes derive from data posted to Ethereum, in the order the sequencer chose. Blocks whose data is not yet on Ethereum can in principle be reorganized by the sequencer. A withdrawal depends on a state root from the permissioned proposer passing its challenge period, which only permissioned challengers can dispute, and a Gelato 3-of-4 multisig can upgrade the core contracts with no delay, per L2BEAT.
Qualifications
- Scarce resource · Not applicable. Recorded as other. Lisk's own terms: block production uses no stake or work. One sequencer orders blocks on a chain built with Gelato as rollup-as-a-service provider, and Lisk's docs describe the chain's security as coming from Ethereum. LSK staking on the chain pays rewards to existing positions until the shutdown; it does not select block producers.
- Finality · Partial. Recorded as other. Lisk's own terms: Lisk runs the OP Stack, whose nodes label L2 blocks unsafe (in a sequencer block), safe (data posted to Ethereum) and finalized (the Ethereum block holding that data is final). Withdrawals to Ethereum follow a separate path: a permissioned state root must pass its challenge period, and Lisk tells users to allow about 8 days.
- Fault proofs · Partial. Fault-proof contracts are deployed, but L2BEAT reports that the dispute game cannot execute for Lisk because the chain ID is missing from the proof program's release, and the Superchain Registry lists Lisk's proofs as permissioned. Only the permissioned proposer and challengers act, so invalid state roots are caught only if a permissioned challenger disputes them.
- Network shutdown · Applies. Lisk announced in August 2026 that the Lisk Chain and the Lisk DAO are winding down and that the chain shuts down on 31 October 2026, after which assets left on it cannot be withdrawn or recovered. New staking is closed, unlocking is penalty-free, and Lisk says bridge.lisk.com is the only bridge that still works. The chain was still producing blocks when its public RPC was read on 2026-09-29.
Tradeoffs
- Emphasizes
- Scalability
- Gives up
- Decentralized operation and trust-minimized settlement. One sequencer orders all transactions, only permissioned parties can propose or challenge state roots, and a Gelato 3-of-4 multisig can upgrade the bridge and proof contracts instantly with no exit window, according to L2BEAT, which places Lisk below its lowest stage.Lisk's docs stress low fees and short block times and say Ethereum's layer-1 security is available to Lisk users. All transaction data is posted to Ethereum, so anyone can rebuild the state, but whether withdrawals are correct rests on the permissioned proposer and challengers, not on a working open proof system. Continuity is also limited: Lisk has announced that the chain shuts down on 31 October 2026.
- Full node at home
- Practical at home 61516Lisk's node repository asks for a modern multi-core CPU, at least 16 GB of RAM (32 GB recommended) and a local NVMe SSD sized at twice the chain plus a snapshot plus 20%; the node runs op-node with op-reth and needs an Ethereum full-node RPC and beacon endpoint. Lisk states no chain size; Gelato's snapshot index listed a full-node snapshot of 38.5 GB compressed on 2026-09-29. Lisk's own snapshots are archive data that restore without verification, and a full sync can take days to weeks. A node matters only until the 31 October 2026 shutdown.
- Throughput claims
- No classified figure recorded
Scaling layers
No scaling layer recorded in this profile.
Capabilities
| Capability | How it is provided | Notes and sources |
|---|---|---|
| Account abstraction | Structured assessment pending | Not yet assessed for any chain. |
| Atomic swaps | Unknown | No protocol-level trust-minimized swap mechanism on Lisk was reviewed; contracts on the chain could implement hash-locked swaps, but none was verified. |
| Authenticated data publication | Unknown | Not yet assessed under this row's current definition. |
| Light clients | Unknown | No light-client path for Lisk was reviewed. State roots on Ethereum come from a permissioned proposer and, per L2BEAT, the fault-proof system cannot run for Lisk, so a posted root is not backed by a working proof. 13 |
| Native staking or delegation | Structured assessment pending | Not yet assessed for any chain. |
| On-chain governance | Structured assessment pending | Not yet assessed for any chain. |
| Parallel execution | Structured assessment pending | Not yet assessed for any chain. |
| Payment or state channels | Unknown | No payment or state channel layer anchored to Lisk was reviewed. |
| Programmable spending | Native (protocol or core-team software) Earlier definition | Lisk runs EVM smart contracts written in Solidity or Vyper, and its docs call the chain EVM-equivalent with a few documented OP Stack differences. Lisk's wallet page lists Safe multisig accounts. All contracts stop with the chain on 31 October 2026. 146 |
| Protocol-verified messaging | Structured assessment pending | Not yet assessed for any chain. |
| Reversible transfers or recovery | Unknown | No protocol feature to cancel or delay a sent payment or to recover an account was found in Lisk's docs. Lisk's wallet page lists Safe multisig accounts, but no recovery module live on Lisk was reviewed. 4 |
| Rollups | Unknown | Rollups anchored to Lisk were not reviewed. Lisk itself is a rollup on Ethereum; its settlement is described in the mechanism and Ethereum dependency notes. |
| Shielded transfers | Structured assessment pending | Not yet assessed for any chain. |
| Signed partial offers | Unknown | Not yet assessed under this row's current definition. |
Reading these values
- How this feature is provided
- Built into the protocol, core-team software or independent software says where a feature lives and who can change it. These are implementation layers, not quality: core-team software is not closer to the protocol than independent software.
- Structured assessment pending
- The shared review has not assessed this feature for any chain yet (Account abstraction, Native staking or delegation, On-chain governance, Parallel execution, Protocol-verified messaging and Shielded transfers). That does not mean it is absent, and a chain’s profile may already describe it.
- Unknown
- The review has not established this for this chain under the current definition; the note beside it says why. Unknown is not absent and not a low score. A feature reads “Not present” only when a source shows it is absent.
- Earlier definition
- Payment or state channels, Programmable spending and Rollups keep the earlier definition until the next fact-check. There, “Native” does not separate the protocol from core-team software, “Ecosystem software” does not say who publishes it, and “Partial” does not say which layer.
- Reading across rows
- The list of capabilities is incomplete. Do not read these rows as a chain leading or lagging overall.
Ecosystem & custody
| Product type | Status | Notes and sources |
|---|---|---|
| Automated market makers | ThinVelodrome (V2 and V3 pools), Uniswap v3 | DeFiLlama lists Velodrome V2, Velodrome V3 and Uniswap V3 as exchanges on Lisk, and Velodrome's own contracts repository lists a Lisk deployment. Trading volume in DeFiLlama's read was small, and every venue on the chain ends with the 31 October 2026 shutdown; Lisk tells users to close positions and bridge the tokens out. 72223 |
| Issuer-native stablecoins | ThinIDRX (Indonesian rupiah stablecoin) | IDRX's own contract list names Lisk, and Lisk's token list shows IDRX with no Ethereum token behind it. USDT on Lisk is bridged from Ethereum through the standard bridge and USDC.e through a separate bridge contract pair that Lisk's token list names; neither is issuer-native: Circle's USDC address list and Tether's supported-protocol list do not name Lisk. USD₮0 arrives through Stargate. Every stablecoin on the chain must be withdrawn before 31 October 2026. 57192021 |
| Algorithmic stablecoins | Unknown | Algorithmic or hybrid stablecoins on Lisk were not reviewed. |
| Bridges | Native to the protocolLisk Bridge (bridge.lisk.com over the chain's standard bridge contracts) | ETH, LSK and other tokens move between Ethereum and Lisk through the chain's standard bridge and portal contracts, which the Lisk Bridge interface drives; LSK's canonical token contract stays on Ethereum. Lisk's bridge page still lists Across, Owlto, Relay, Superbridge and Stargate, but Lisk's September 2026 withdrawal notice says bridge.lisk.com is the only bridge that still works. Risk: Withdrawals rely on state roots from a permissioned proposer that only permissioned challengers can dispute, and a Gelato 3-of-4 multisig can upgrade the bridge contracts instantly, per L2BEAT, which also lists the Optimism Security Council, acting as guardian through the shared Superchain configuration contract, as able to pause withdrawals. The chain shuts down on 31 October 2026: a withdrawal still in its 7-day wait may not complete, and assets left behind become inaccessible. WETH must be unwrapped to ETH before bridging. 3789111318 |
| Block explorers | ThinLisk Blockscout (blockscout.lisk.com) | Lisk's network page lists one mainnet explorer, the Blockscout instance at blockscout.lisk.com, as official without naming who runs it; its public API answered on 2026-09-29. No second mainnet explorer was verified, explorer indexes are not canonical consensus, and whether the explorer stays online after the shutdown was not stated. 217 |
| Hardware wallets | ThinTrezor Safe 3, 5 and 7 (through MetaMask or Rabby), Ledger (through Zerion) | See custody rows: neither vendor's own wallet code includes the Lisk network. Trezor names MetaMask and Rabby for Lisk, and Lisk's wallet page lists Zerion as a Ledger-compatible wallet with the Lisk network built in. 4252627 |
Hardware-wallet custody
| Device maker | Status | What users can and cannot do |
|---|---|---|
| Ledger | Through an intermediaryZerion, a third-party wallet that Lisk's wallet page lists as Ledger-compatible with the Lisk network built inSame as native: Unknown | Can: Sign Lisk network transactions with a Ledger device through Zerion, which Lisk's wallet page lists as compatible with Ledger and as integrating the Lisk network natively Cannot: Add a Lisk network account in Ledger Wallet: its current coin-module list names no Lisk network Cannot: Rely on Ledger's Lisk page for the current chain: it describes the retired layer 1 and points to Liskish, a third-party walletThe Ledger path is documented by Lisk, not by Ledger. Device models, LSK token display and whether Zerion keeps Lisk support until the shutdown were not reviewed. 42425 |
| Trezor | Through an intermediaryMetaMask or Rabby (third-party wallet apps named on Trezor's Lisk page)Same as native: Unknown | Can: Use a Trezor Safe 3, Safe 5 or Safe 7 on the Lisk network through MetaMask or Rabby, which Trezor's Lisk page names Can: Manage the LSK token, which Trezor's page says works in Trezor Suite; the page lists Base, Ethereum and Lisk as networks Cannot: Add the Lisk network in Trezor Suite: Suite's current network code has no entry for chain ID 1135Trezor's Lisk page is a template that says Trezor Suite works with Lisk. Because Suite's network code lacks the Lisk chain, that line is read as covering the LSK token on networks Suite supports, with the Lisk network itself reached through MetaMask or Rabby. Older models were not reviewed. 2627 |
Public data
iKnow Blockchain has no public-data lookups for Lisk yet. This is a limit of the service, not a statement about the network.
| Lookup | Status | What it covers and its limits |
|---|---|---|
| Address or account | Not available yet | Public-data lookups for this chain are not built yet. |
| Tokens and assets | Not available yet | Public-data lookups for this chain are not built yet. |
| NFTs | Not available yet | Public-data lookups for this chain are not built yet. |
| Transactions | Not available yet | Public-data lookups for this chain are not built yet. |
Sourced developments
Developments: Reviewed Sep 29, 2026 Next review due Oct 9, 2026, 12:00 UTC.
Publication date · newest first
-
Lisk publishes withdrawal steps: move every asset to Ethereum before 31 October
Lisk's notice says every asset on Lisk must be withdrawn to Ethereum by 31 October 2026 through bridge.lisk.com, which it calls the only bridge that still works. Bridging takes about 8 days (a prove transaction on Ethereum about an hour after starting, then a 7-day wait); stakers must unlock, wait 3 days and unstake first, about 11 days in total. The bridge interface itself warns against new deposits.
- Implementation:guidance published; bridge interface shows a shutdown banner
- Release:Published
- Activation:withdrawal deadline 31 October 2026
Sources: Lisk — Action required: withdraw all assets from Lisk Chain by 31 October 2026 (external site) · Lisk Support — Lisk Chain Closure (FAQ) (external site) · Lisk — Lisk bridge (external site)
-
Lisk announces the Lisk Chain will shut down on 31 October 2026 and the Lisk DAO will wind down
Lisk announced that it is becoming a money operations platform for finance teams and that the Lisk Chain and the Lisk DAO are winding down, with the chain shutting down on 31 October 2026. A DAO proposal, described as proposed at announcement and passed by September, burned 100 million LSK (total supply from 400 million to 300 million), made unlocking penalty-free and moved the remaining treasury to Lisk Ltd; Lisk also says new staking is no longer possible. Celo Core Co. offers projects an optional migration path to the Celo network.
- Proposal:DAO proposal passed; vote dates and totals not read
- Implementation:staking contract updated per Lisk's DAO FAQ; burn reported done there but in progress in Lisk's token FAQ; chain still running at review
- Release:Announced
- Activation:chain shutdown scheduled for 31 October 2026; not yet reached at review
Sources: Lisk — Introducing the New Lisk (external site) · Lisk Support — DAO Cessation (FAQ) (external site) · Lisk Support — LSK Token (FAQ) (external site) · Lisk Support — Lisk Chain Closure (FAQ) (external site) · L2BEAT — Lisk (external site) · TechAfrica News — Lisk Pivots to Business Finance Platform, Plans Lisk Chain Shutdown (external site)
-
Lisk node v0.4.21 makes the Karst network upgrade mandatory for Lisk Mainnet
Lisk's node release v0.4.21 moved to op-node v1.19.1 and op-reth v2.3.2, the mandatory clients carrying the Karst activation time for Lisk Mainnet, 8 July 2026 at 16:00:01 UTC, pending governance approval. Release v0.4.22 followed on 29 June with op-reth v2.3.3 to fix gas estimation after Karst. The Superchain Registry's Lisk configuration lists the same Karst time.
- Proposal:pending governance approval when the release was published
- Implementation:shipped in lisk-node v0.4.21 and v0.4.22
- Release:mandatory node release
- Activation:scheduled for 2026-07-08 16:00:01 UTC in the registry; activation on chain not independently checked
Sources: Lisk (GitHub, LiskHQ/lisk-node) — Lisk node v0.4.21: mandatory upgrade ahead of Karst on Mainnet (external site) · Lisk (GitHub, LiskHQ/lisk-node) — Lisk node releases (external site) · Lisk (GitHub, LiskHQ/lisk-node) — Lisk node releases (Atom feed) (external site) · Optimism (GitHub, ethereum-optimism/superchain-registry) — Superchain Registry: Lisk mainnet configuration (lisk.toml) (external site)
-
Two-year window to claim legacy layer-1 LSK closes
The window to claim LSK from the retired Lisk layer 1 on the new network closed on 21 May 2026, two years after the snapshot at height 24,823,618. Lisk says unclaimed tokens went to the Lisk DAO treasury and that late claims or reimbursements are not possible; historical data stays readable through the legacy chain service.
- Implementation:claim window ended as set in the April 2024 announcement
- Release:no release involved
- Activation:closed on 2026-05-21
Sources: Lisk Support — Legacy L1 LSK (FAQ) (external site) · Lisk, via the Internet Archive — LSK Token Migration Snapshot Height Announcement (archived copy) (external site) · Lisk Documentation (Onchain Foundation) — Legacy Chain Service (external site) · Lisk Support — DAO Cessation (FAQ) (external site)
Topics your AI can explain
Your AI can explain these topics for Lisk through the connection, with sources.
Known gaps
What this profile's review did not establish:
- Lisk's posts do not say whether the sequencer, public RPC, explorer, bridge interface or legacy layer-1 data service keep running after 31 October 2026, or whether a withdrawal already proven on Ethereum can still be claimed after that date.
- The first publication date of the shutdown announcement is uncertain: the Lisk blog page shows only August 2026 and its metadata says 2026-08-04, while L2BEAT dates the announcement to 2026-08-25, news coverage published on 2026-08-26 still described the DAO changes as proposed, and the post's current text already reports the DAO vote as passed.
- The Lisk Governance Forum returned an error and the linked DeGov proposal page returned 404, so the passed DAO proposal's text, vote dates and totals were not read directly.
- The permissioned proposer, the Gelato challenger and upgrade multisig, and the fault-proof defect are sourced to L2BEAT; Lisk's own docs do not describe them. No source read names who operates the sequencer.
- Lisk's bridge page still lists third-party bridges that Lisk's September 2026 notice says no longer work; which third-party routes still function was not tested.
- The future of the Lisk Sepolia testnet after the mainnet shutdown was not stated.
- Lisk publishes no current chain size; only compressed snapshot sizes from Gelato's snapshot index were read, so the unpacked storage a node needs was not measured.
- Ledger does not document the Lisk network; the Ledger path rests on Lisk's wallet page, and Ledger's own Lisk page describes the retired layer 1.
- IDRX reserves, redemption and plans for Lisk after the shutdown, and the USD₮0 route through Stargate, were not reviewed.
- Liquidity and closing deadlines of individual protocols on Lisk were not reviewed; Lisk warns that projects moving to Celo may set earlier deadlines.
- Atomic-swap, data-publication, light-client, channel, account-recovery and algorithmic-stablecoin surfaces on Lisk were not reviewed.
- Lisk's token FAQ calls the 100 million LSK burn in progress while its DAO FAQ says it is done; Etherscan showed a maximum total supply of 300 million LSK on 2026-09-29.
Sources
Oldest dated source check: Source checked Sep 29, 2026 Next check due Oct 29, 2026.
- Introduction to Lisk (external site)
- Network information, official explorers & faucets (external site)
- Bridges (external site)
- Wallets (external site)
- Tokens on Lisk (external site)
- Introducing the New Lisk (external site)
- Action required: withdraw all assets from Lisk Chain by 31 October 2026 (external site)
- Lisk Chain Closure (FAQ) (external site)
- LSK Token (FAQ) (external site)
- Legacy L1 LSK (FAQ) (external site)
- Superchain Registry: Lisk mainnet configuration (lisk.toml) (external site)
- Superchain Registry chain list (fault-proof status per chain) (external site)
- Lisk (external site)
- Transaction finality (external site)
- Lisk node (README: system requirements, clients and snapshots) (external site)
- Lisk Mainnet snapshot archives (op-reth full and archival data directories) (external site)
- Lisk blockchain explorer (Blockscout) (external site)
- Lisk (LSK) token on Ethereum (external site)
- Supported Chain and Contract Address (external site)
- USDC Contract Addresses (external site)
- Supported Protocols and Integration Guidelines (external site)
- DEX overview for the Lisk chain (API) (external site)
- Velodrome superchain-contracts README (deployments table) (external site)
- Lisk wallet (external site)
- Ledger Wallet coin-module loaders (loaders.ts, develop branch) (external site)
- Lisk wallet (external site)
- trezor-suite: Ethereum-family network configuration (develop branch) (external site)
Report an error
Found something wrong or out of date? Reporting is free, and every chain goes through the same process. Published corrections appear in the public log.
Funding disclosure
Funding disclosures appear here when an upkeep arrangement exists, in the form “Upkeep funded by [name]; verdicts unaffected.” The funder ledger has not been published yet. Neutrality & funding