Layer 1 blockchain
Theta ticker THETA
Summary
Theta mainnet (launched March 2019) is a proof-of-stake chain whose whitepaper calls its design multi-level BFT. A capped committee of validators, the top 31 THETA stake holders with at least 200,000 THETA each since 2022, proposes blocks and votes on them. Votes are weighted by stake: a block is committed once validators holding more than two-thirds of validator stake have voted for it, and it becomes final once its direct child is committed as well. Thousands of guardian nodes, each staking at least 1,000 THETA, then co-sign every 100th block with aggregated BLS signatures as a second check. Elite edge nodes stake TFUEL for rewards but do not decide blocks. A read of Theta's explorer API on 2026-09-27 showed 21 validator staking addresses and about 2,145 guardian staking addresses; the two largest validator addresses held about 45% of validator stake and the four largest about 70%. 1261619202124
Design
- System
- Layer 1 blockchainIndependent proof-of-stake chain with its own validators and guardians; it does not settle to another chain. It runs an EVM for smart contracts, but its native ledger, two-token balances, staking and fee rules are Theta's own, so Ethereum-family defaults are not inherited. Metachain subchains are separate chains with their own validators and are recorded as sidechains, not rollups.
- Settlement family
- Its own design
- Scarce resource
- Stake (proof of stake)
- State model
- Accounts
- Finality
- Other
- Who makes blocks
- Validators take turns by epoch. The release-branch code picks each epoch's proposer pseudo-randomly, weighted by stake, using the epoch number as the seed; the code itself marks this randomness as a placeholder to be replaced. Theta's docs describe 20 to 30 enterprise validators, including Google, Samsung, Sony, Binance and Theta Labs.
- Fork choice
- No open weight-based chain selection. Validators vote for the longest branch among blocks that are not yet committed, but a block only commits with a certificate of more than two-thirds of validator votes, and honest validators never vote against a committed block. The whitepaper says that if the committee were fully compromised, guardians could re-elect validators and restart from the last guardian-sealed checkpoint; that recovery path was not seen used.
Qualifications
- Slashing · Contested. The whitepaper says validator stake can be slashed for misbehaviour and the transaction format includes a slash type, but the reviewed release-branch code has the slash handler commented out, and its proof check covers micropayment overspending, not validator double-signing.
- Guardian finality · Partial. In the reviewed code a block is marked final by validator vote certificates; guardian signatures on every 100th block are gathered afterwards and written into later blocks, so guardians act as an after-the-fact seal rather than a precondition for finality.
- Evm compatibility · Partial. Contracts run on an EVM matching Ethereum's Constantinople rules plus some Istanbul features, reached through an RPC adaptor. The native layer, its two-token balances, staking and fee rules are Theta's own, and MetaMask does not handle THETA itself.
- Tps · Contested. The only throughput figures are design claims without a published method; they are kept in the classified claims list and are not comparable with observed rates.
- Settlement family · Partial. Recorded as other. Theta's own terms: an independent proof-of-stake ledger with a validator committee and guardian nodes, two tokens (THETA for staking and TFUEL for fees) and its own staking and fee rules; smart contracts run on an EVM.
- Finality · Partial. Recorded as other. Theta's own terms: multi-level BFT. A block commits once validators holding more than two-thirds of validator stake vote for it and is final once its direct child is also committed; guardian nodes then co-sign every 100th block with aggregated BLS signatures as an after-the-fact seal.
Tradeoffs
- Emphasizes
- Scalability and Security Contested
- Gives up
- Open block production. At most 31 top stakers, presented by Theta as enterprise partners plus Theta Labs, propose and commit every block, with stake-weighted votes. In a 2026-09-27 explorer read the two largest of 21 validator addresses held about 45% of validator stake (enough to halt the chain) and the four largest about 70% (enough to commit blocks). Guardians can run at home but only co-sign checkpoints after blocks are final. Theta Labs says its August 2026 unstake cut its share of staked THETA from about 48% to about 23%, figures not reconciled here.The whitepaper says the design balances throughput, consistency and decentralization, and Theta's overview page calls the chain highly decentralized alongside its throughput claim; reading that as all three corners at once is contested. No active validator slashing path was found in the reviewed code, which weakens the stake-at-risk side of the security argument.
- Full node at home
- Practical at home 6781619Theta's guardian guide lists a 4-core CPU, 16 GB of RAM and 5 Mbps up and down, with desktop installers for Windows, macOS and Linux; storage is not stated. New nodes start from a snapshot downloaded from Theta's servers and usually sync in under 10 minutes, which means trusting that snapshot rather than replaying history. Joining the validator committee needs at least 200,000 THETA and a top-31 stake.
- Throughput claims
- Theoretical peak: 1,000 tx/s 1219Theoretical peak; not comparable across chains or with observed load.The 2018 whitepaper gives 1,000 or more transactions per second as a design target for a committee of 10 to 20 validators; no method, window, hardware or bandwidth assumptions are published. Theta's current overview page repeats the figure in the present tense without a measurement, so it is treated as a design claim, not observed load. The whitepaper's assumption of 10 to 20 validators differs from today's committee cap of 31 in the node code. The figure ignores block propagation, state growth and decoy load, and no observed rate was found.
- Theoretical peak 412Theoretical peak; not comparable across chains or with observed load.Aggregate across Metachain subchains; no figure given ('potentially unlimited').The claim adds up separate subchains, each with its own validators and security, so it is not comparable with a single chain's rate. Which subchains are live, and their actual load, was not verified.
Scaling layers
- Theta Metachain subchains · Sidechain, mainnet 4121314
Each subchain runs its own validator set, staked with the subchain's own governance token plus wrapped THETA collateral registered on the main chain. Subchain validators relay transfers through lock-and-mint token bank contracts, so assets moved to a subchain are only as safe as that subchain's validator majority. The mainnet transfer guide is marked work in progress, and which subchains operate today was not verified. - Off-chain micropayment pool (reserve fund and service payment transactions) · Payment channels, mainnet 21122
A payer locks TFUEL plus collateral on the main chain for a set number of blocks, then pays many recipients with signed off-chain receipts that each recipient redeems on chain. The node still executes these transaction types, but the step that would slash the payer's collateral for overspending is commented out in the reviewed code, and current use by any service was not verified. - Proposed zk-rollup extension for subchains · Rollup, research 412
The 4.0 whitepaper describes adding validity proofs so that the main chain would secure subchains even against a dishonest subchain majority. It is presented as a possible future direction, not a deployed system.
Capabilities
| Capability | How it is provided | Notes and sources |
|---|---|---|
| Account abstraction | Structured assessment pending | Not yet assessed for any chain. |
| Atomic swaps | Unknown | No hash-time-locked or other trust-minimized swap mechanism was documented for Theta. The EVM could host one, but none was reviewed. |
| Authenticated data publication | Unknown | Not yet assessed under the current definitions; the earlier note said absence was not exhaustively verified. EdgeCloud and the edge network deliver video and compute off chain, and EdgeStore, a storage network released as an alpha preview in 2022, is off-chain content storage; the reviewed sources show no commitment to their data that the chain records. 1 |
| Light clients | Unknown | Not yet assessed under the current definitions; nodes bootstrap from a trusted snapshot, and no light client that checks validator signatures was found in the reviewed docs. 8 |
| Native staking or delegation | Structured assessment pending | Not yet assessed for any chain. |
| On-chain governance | Structured assessment pending | Not yet assessed for any chain. |
| Parallel execution | Structured assessment pending | Not yet assessed for any chain. |
| Payment or state channels | Partial (layer not stated) Earlier definition | The ledger includes an off-chain micropayment pool (reserve fund, release fund and service payment transactions). The overspending penalty is disabled in the reviewed code and current use was not verified. 21122 |
| Programmable spending | Native (protocol or core-team software) Earlier definition | EVM smart contracts paid in TFUEL, with TNT-20 and TNT-721 token standards; THETA can be wrapped as a TNT-20 token since v3.4.0 (2022). These are contract accounts, not native spend conditions on ordinary accounts. 1015 |
| Protocol-verified messaging | Structured assessment pending | Not yet assessed for any chain. |
| Reversible transfers or recovery | Unknown | Not yet assessed under this row's current definition. |
| Rollups | None found Earlier definition | No rollup anchors to Theta. Metachain subchains keep their own validators and are recorded as sidechains; a zk-rollup extension is only a stated possible future direction. 4 |
| Shielded transfers | Structured assessment pending | Not yet assessed for any chain. |
| Signed partial offers | Unknown | Not yet assessed under this row's current definition. |
Reading these values
- How this feature is provided
- Built into the protocol, core-team software or independent software says where a feature lives and who can change it. These are implementation layers, not quality: core-team software is not closer to the protocol than independent software.
- Structured assessment pending
- The shared review has not assessed this feature for any chain yet (Account abstraction, Native staking or delegation, On-chain governance, Parallel execution, Protocol-verified messaging and Shielded transfers). That does not mean it is absent, and a chain’s profile may already describe it.
- Unknown
- The review has not established this for this chain under the current definition; the note beside it says why. Unknown is not absent and not a low score. A feature reads “Not present” only when a source shows it is absent.
- Earlier definition
- Payment or state channels, Programmable spending and Rollups keep the earlier definition until the next fact-check. There, “Native” does not separate the protocol from core-team software, “Ecosystem software” does not say who publishes it, and “Partial” does not say which layer.
- Reading across rows
- The list of capabilities is incomplete. Do not read these rows as a chain leading or lagging overall.
Ecosystem & custody
| Product type | Status | Notes and sources |
|---|---|---|
| Automated market makers | ThinThetaSwap, VoltSwap | ThetaSwap's site lists TFUEL, TDROP and wrapped THETA among the tokens it offers, and DeFiLlama describes it as a Theta-only automated market-maker exchange; DeFiLlama also lists VoltSwap, a Meter-ecosystem exchange, on Theta. Operators, audits and liquidity depth were not reviewed, and DeFiLlama lists no audits for either. 2627 |
| Issuer-native stablecoins | None found | Neither Circle's USDC contract list nor Tether's supported-protocol list includes Theta, and no other issuer-native stablecoin was found. 2930 |
| Algorithmic stablecoins | Unknown | No algorithmic stablecoin with material use was found. DeFiLlama lists ThetaCash (TBILL), which describes itself as a rebasing liquidity token, not a dollar-pegged stablecoin. 27 |
| Bridges | First-partyTheta Metachain token banks (main chain and subchains), Meter Passport (third party; under maintenance at review) | Theta's own interchain channel moves TFUEL and TNT tokens between the main chain and registered subchains by locking on one side and minting vouchers on the other. The 4.0 whitepaper draws links to Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain and Avalanche, but no live Theta-run external bridge was verified. Meter Passport, listed on Theta by DeFiLlama, showed a maintenance page saying transfers are unavailable. Risk: Subchain assets depend on that subchain's own validator majority. DeFiLlama describes Meter Passport as secured by a 3-of-5 multisig with independent relayers, so users trust those signers. A wrapped asset is only as sound as the bridge that minted it. 4142728 |
| Block explorers | First-partyTheta Explorer, ThetaScan | Theta Labs runs the Theta Explorer and a public explorer API; ThetaScan is a separate explorer on its own domain that asks users for donations, and its operator was not identified. Listing is not a quality or completeness check, and explorer data is provider-indexed. 232425 |
| Hardware wallets | ThinLedger (through Theta Web Wallet) | See custody rows: the documented Ledger path runs through Theta's web wallet using the Ledger Ethereum app, and Trezor states that it does not support Theta or TFUEL. 93233 |
Hardware-wallet custody
| Device maker | Status | What users can and cannot do |
|---|---|---|
| Ledger | Through an intermediaryTheta Web Wallet, signing with the Ledger Ethereum appSame as native: No | Can: Unlock the Theta Web Wallet with a Ledger device and sign THETA and TFUEL transactions, including guardian stake deposits, per Theta's staking guide Cannot: Find Theta or TFUEL in Ledger's published Ledger Wallet currency list (@ledgerhq/cryptoassets 13.56.0) Cannot: Use a dedicated Theta device app: none was found, and Theta's guide routes signing through the Ethereum app with contract data allowedLedger's Theta Network page (modified 2026-02-20) is a generic template that invites users to manage THETA in Ledger Wallet, but Ledger's own published currency list has no Theta entry and no network with Theta's EVM chain ID 361, so the documented working path is Theta's web wallet. 93132 |
| Trezor | None foundSame as native: No | Cannot: Manage THETA or TFUEL in Trezor Suite; Trezor's pages say it does not currently support Theta Network or Theta FuelTrezor's pages ask users who used these assets with Trezor before to contact support. Theta node releases added Trezor support in 2019 (v1.0.3) and fixed Trezor transaction signing in October 2021 (v3.1.2), so an older path through Theta's own software existed; whether Theta's web wallet still offers it was not checked. 17183334 |
Public data
iKnow Blockchain has no public-data lookups for Theta yet. This is a limit of the service, not a statement about the network.
| Lookup | Status | What it covers and its limits |
|---|---|---|
| Address or account | Not available yet | Public-data lookups for this chain are not built yet. |
| Tokens and assets | Not available yet | Public-data lookups for this chain are not built yet. |
| NFTs | Not available yet | Public-data lookups for this chain are not built yet. |
| Transactions | Not available yet | Public-data lookups for this chain are not built yet. |
Sourced developments
Developments: Review overdue Reviewed Sep 27, 2026; next review was due Oct 7, 2026, 12:00 UTC.
Publication date · newest first
-
Theta Labs announced its annual treasury unstake of 30 million THETA
Theta Labs said it would unstake 30 million of the 60 million THETA in its treasury (the post also mentions 15 million staked with Crypto.com) to fund enterprise validators, EdgeCloud, AI agents, academic partnerships, marketing, community grants and legal costs. It said this would cut its share of all staked THETA from about 48% to about 23%.
- Implementation:unstake announced
- Release:announced by Theta Labs
- Activation:Theta Labs' September 1 roundup says the unstake was carried out; not independently checked on chain
Sources: Theta Labs blog — Fueling 2026-2027 Growth: Annual Theta Validator Unstake (external site) · Theta Labs blog — Theta Roundup: August 2026 (external site) · Theta Labs — Theta Explorer API: all stake records (external site)
-
Theta Edge Node left beta
Theta Labs announced that Edge Node, the software that lets a computer relay and cache video, transcode video and render 3D jobs for TFUEL, is now fully released rather than beta. AI workloads run through a separate EdgeCloud client, not Edge Node.
- Implementation:Released
- Release:full release announced
- Activation:available per Theta Labs; not tested in this review
Sources: Theta Labs blog — Theta Edge Node Enters Full Release (external site) · Theta Labs blog — Theta Roundup: August 2026 (external site)
-
ZAN, Ant Digital Technologies' Web3 brand, joined as an enterprise validator
Theta Labs announced that ZAN, the Web3 brand of Ant Digital Technologies, is running an enterprise validator node and published its validator address. The post lists the other enterprise validators as including Google, Samsung, Sony, CAA, Binance, Deutsche Telekom, Docomo Global and Cloudician.
- Implementation:validator node announced as live
- Release:Announced
- Activation:stake at the announced address observed in a 2026-09-27 explorer read
Sources: Theta Labs blog — ZAN, Ant Digital Technologies' Web3 Brand, Joins Theta Network as Strategic Enterprise Validator (external site) · Theta Labs — Theta Explorer API: all stake records (external site)
-
Theta node v4.1.3 released as a recommended, non-hard-fork update
Theta Labs released node version 4.1.3, which its notes describe as further block synchronization improvements and several security hardening fixes; the listed change serialises block-branch downloads and prioritises queued blocks. It follows v4.1.1 (October 2025) and v4.1.2 (December 2025), which also targeted block synchronization.
- Implementation:shipped in theta-protocol-ledger v4.1.3
- Release:recommended upgrade; no deadline stated
- Activation:no activation height; takes effect when each node upgrades
Sources: Theta Labs (GitHub) — Theta v4.1.3 release notes (external site) · Theta Labs (GitHub) — theta-protocol-ledger releases (external site) · Theta Labs (GitHub) — Theta v4.1.2 release notes (external site) · Theta Labs (GitHub) — Theta v4.1.1 release notes (external site)
Topics your AI can explain
Your AI can explain these topics for Theta through the connection, with sources.
Known gaps
What this profile's review did not establish:
- Who operates each current validator beyond the named partners, and whether validator candidacy has any off-chain approval step, were not verified.
- Validator and guardian counts and stake shares come from Theta's own explorer API on 2026-09-27; they are provider-indexed, count staking addresses rather than operators, and were not checked against a local node. Which operators control the largest validator addresses was not verified.
- Theta Labs' statement that its share of staked THETA fell from about 48% to about 23% could not be reconciled with the explorer read: about 320 million THETA was staked, and a 30 million THETA unstake alone would not move a 48% share that far.
- Theta's docs do not state storage needs for a guardian or full node, and archive size was not verified.
- Which Metachain subchains are live on mainnet, their validator counts and the value they hold were not verified.
- Whether any service still uses the off-chain micropayment pool was not verified.
- No other code path that penalizes validators was found, but the search was not exhaustive; slashing is marked contested.
- The current yearly TFUEL issuance rate was not verified; the docs say only that supply grows by a fixed yearly percentage.
- Whether Ledger Wallet shows THETA or TFUEL balances directly was not confirmed; Ledger's currency list has no Theta entry while its marketing page is generic.
- Whether Theta's web wallet still offers Trezor signing was not checked.
- No atomic-swap mechanism, reversible-transfer or recovery feature, or light client was found; absence was not exhaustively verified.
- No live Theta-run bridge to Ethereum or other external chains was verified, and Meter Passport was under maintenance at review.
- ThetaSwap's operator, audits and liquidity depth were not reviewed.
Sources
Oldest dated source check: Source checked Sep 27, 2026 Next check due Oct 27, 2026.
- What is Theta Network (external site)
- Theta whitepaper 2.0: A Decentralized Video Delivery and Streaming Network Powered by a New Blockchain (Nov 2018) (external site)
- Theta Mainnet 3.0 Whitepaper (Dec 2020) (external site)
- Theta Mainnet 4.0: Introducing Theta Metachain (Apr 2022) (external site)
- Scalable BFT Consensus Mechanism Through Aggregated Signature Gossip (external site)
- Guardian Node Overview (external site)
- Running a Guardian Node through the graphical user interface (external site)
- Running a Guardian Node through the command line (external site)
- Guardian staking process (external site)
- Turing-Complete Smart Contract (external site)
- RPC API Reference (external site)
- Theta Metachain Overview (external site)
- Metachain mainnet guide: subchain registration and staking (external site)
- Metachain mainnet guide: cross-chain asset transfers (external site)
- theta-protocol-ledger releases (external site)
- Theta v3.3.0 release notes (external site)
- Theta v1.0.3 release notes (Support for Trezor Wallet) (external site)
- Theta v3.1.2 release notes (Trezor signing fixes) (external site)
- consensus/validator.go (release branch) (external site)
- core/validator.go (release branch): stake-weighted two-thirds vote rule and validator stake minimums (external site)
- consensus/engine.go (release branch) (external site)
- ledger/execution/executor.go (release branch) (external site)
- Explorer Overview (external site)
- Theta Explorer API: all stake records (read 2026-09-27) (external site)
- ThetaScan: The Theta Blockchain Explorer (external site)
- Theta Swap (external site)
- DeFiLlama protocols API (Theta entries: ThetaSwap, VoltSwap, ThetaCash, Meter Passport) (external site)
- Meter Passport Bridge (maintenance page) (external site)
- USDC contract addresses (external site)
- Supported protocols (external site)
- Theta Network wallet (external site)
- @ledgerhq/cryptoassets 13.56.0 currency list (external site)
- Theta Network wallet (external site)
- Theta Fuel wallet (external site)
- Fueling 2026-2027 Growth: Annual Theta Validator Unstake (external site)
- Theta Roundup: August 2026 (external site)
Report an error
Found something wrong or out of date? Reporting is free, and every chain goes through the same process. Published corrections appear in the public log.
Funding disclosure
Funding disclosures appear here when an upkeep arrangement exists, in the form “Upkeep funded by [name]; verdicts unaffected.” The funder ledger has not been published yet. Neutrality & funding