News
Follow what has changed.
Reviewed news adds a checked explanation of a development and the stage the evidence supports. Automatic headlines are for discovery and are labelled as not yet reviewed. Publication dates and review dates are shown separately, and older items stay as history.
Reviewed news
707 reviewed developments across 151 chains. Each chain's developments were reviewed on the date shown with it; after 10 days its label reads Review overdue until the next review.
A weekly reviewed news run is planned and not yet running, so many chains will show Review overdue until it starts. The items stay available as history.
Sorted by publication date · newest first; equal dates follow the alphabetical chain order. Page 12 of 14.
One chain's developments, A to Z
-
Instant sync reached hostd (v2.6.0) and walletd (v2.12.0)
hostd v2.6.0 added instant sync: a new host can start from a checkpoint whose compact state is committed in the block header and fully validate blocks from there, without replaying the whole chain. walletd v2.12.0 followed on 2026-02-12 with a checkpoint option for the same purpose. hostd's notes say the host's wallet must have only v2 history to use it.
- Implementation:shipped in hostd v2.6.0 and walletd v2.12.0
- Release:released; hostd's README labels it experimental
- Activation:opt-in per node; no network activation
Sources: Sia Foundation (GitHub) — hostd v2.6.0 release notes (external site) · Sia Foundation (GitHub) — walletd v2.12.0 release notes (external site) · Sia Foundation — Learn / Consensus / Instant Syncing (external site) · Sia Foundation blog — The State of Sia, January 2026 (external site) · Sia Foundation (GitHub) — hostd repository (external site)
-
Minimum gas price cut from 2,500 to 500 after a node vote
Ontology put a cut of the mainnet minimum gas price to a node vote from 6 to 9 January 2026, and on 22 January said the new minimum of 500, down from 2,500, was live. OWallet v0.10.4 changed its default to 500 and warned that the ONT Ledger app cannot yet adjust the gas price.
- Proposal:node vote held 6 to 9 January 2026; Ontology reported it as successful
- Implementation:network setting changed, per Ontology; the announcements name no node release
- Release:OWallet v0.10.4 updated its default, released 22 January 2026
- Activation:Ontology said the new minimum was live on 22 January 2026; not checked on chain
Sources: Ontology News — Ontology Gas Price Reduction Now Live On MainNet (external site) · Ontology News — Gas Price Reduction Governance Vote Now Live (external site) · Ontology (GitHub) — OWallet v0.10.4 release (external site)
-
SagaEVM halted after an exploit moved about 7 million US dollars of assets to Ethereum
Saga reported that on 2026-01-21 a coordinated series of contract deployments, cross-chain activity and withdrawals moved about 7 million US dollars of USDC, yUSD, ETH and tBTC from SagaEVM to Ethereum. Saga gave the pause height as block 6,593,800 and said the security chain, its consensus and other chainlets were unaffected, and that Colt and Mustang were affected. SagaEVM's own record shows no new blocks between 2026-01-21 and 2026-02-18.
- Implementation:chain halted for investigation from 2026-01-21 to 2026-02-18
- Release:no post-mortem found in reviewed sources
- Activation:SagaEVM producing blocks again from 2026-02-18; full reopening to users not confirmed
Sources: Saga — SagaEVM Security Incident: Investigation Update (feed item) (external site) · Saga RPC endpoint — SagaEVM block 6,593,800 (external site) · Saga RPC endpoint — SagaEVM block 6,593,802 (external site) · Saga RPC endpoint — SagaEVM block 6,593,803 header (external site) · Halborn — Explained: The SagaEVM Hack (January 2026) (external site)
-
Node release v3.0.1 moved the security chain onto a Saga fork of CometBFT a day before a critical CometBFT flaw was disclosed
Saga published v3.0.1 of the security chain node software on 2026-01-22. Its release notes mention only build-configuration fixes, but the code change also swaps the CometBFT consensus engine for a Saga-held fork named cometbft-sec-tachyon, pinned to a build between CometBFT 0.38.20 and 0.38.21 dated 2026-01-13. On 2026-01-23 CometBFT disclosed a critical block-time flaw it calls Tachyon, fixed in 0.38.21, and says ecosystem partners were told on 2026-01-13. Inference: v3.0.1 carried that fix early; Saga's notes do not say so.
- Implementation:CometBFT replaced by the sagaxyz/cometbft-sec-tachyon fork in pull request 138, merged 2026-01-22
- Release:released as v3.0.1 on 2026-01-22; superseded by v4.0.0, published 2026-03-12
- Activation:which validators ran v3.0.1 was not verified; no governance proposal for it was identified
Sources: Saga (GitHub) — ssc v3.0.1 release (external site) · Saga (GitHub) — ssc go.mod at v3.0.1 (external site) · Saga (GitHub) — sagaxyz/ssc pull request 138: small bug fixes (files changed) (external site) · CometBFT (GitHub security advisory) — CSA-2026-001: Tachyon (external site) · Saga (GitHub) — ssc go.mod at v4.0.0 (external site) · Polkachu public REST endpoint — ssc-1 node info (live query) (external site)
-
Node v0.20.0 scheduled a hard fork activating Cancun EVM rules
Zilliqa released node version 0.20.0 with a hard fork at mainnet block 19,486,411, estimated for 5 February 2026. The notes list Cancun activation for the EVM, a credit-based API rate limiter, faster checkpoint generation and a fix for empty-map Scilla queries.
- Implementation:shipped in zq2 v0.20.0
- Release:required upgrade before block 19,486,411
- Activation:scheduled for block 19,486,411 (estimated 2026-02-05); listed as active in the v0.21.10 mainnet specification
Sources: Zilliqa (GitHub) — zq2 v0.20.0 release notes (external site) · Zilliqa blog — Community Updates and Business Insights (external site) · Zilliqa (zq2 repository, GitHub) — zq2-mainnet chain specification at tag v0.21.10 (external site)
-
dymd v4.0.2 released with the CometBFT Tachyon security patch
Dymension contributors published dymd v4.0.2 on 2026-01-21. Its release note is a single line naming a CometBFT security patch, and the tagged build file swaps the consensus engine for a patch build from the cometbft-sec-tachyon repository. Two days later CometBFT published advisory CSA-2026-001 (Tachyon), rated critical: a faulty block proposer could push block time forward, affecting any module, contract or system that relies on block timestamps. The advisory lists no workaround and says patched versions are required.
- Implementation:CometBFT replaced by a cometbft-sec-tachyon patch build in the v4.0.2 go.mod
- Release:released 2026-01-21 as v4.0.2; marked Latest on the releases page on 2026-09-27
- Activation:not established: no upgrade height or governance record was reviewed; adoption is per operator
Sources: Dymension contributors — Dymension v4.0.2 release notes (external site) · Dymension contributors — Go module file (v4.0.2) (external site) · CometBFT maintainers — CSA-2026-001: Tachyon (external site) · Dymension contributors — Releases · dymensionxyz/dymension (external site) · Dymension Hub via NodeStake public API — Node and application version (live Hub query) (external site)
-
Acurast Mainnet opened to the public as Polkadot parachain 3396
Acurast announced that Mainnet was live, moving production use from the Canary network to Mainnet. Mainnet runs as Polkadot parachain 3396 with ACU as its native token. Acurast set a 90-day window for Canary users to migrate funds, while processors could move at any time; migrated ACU arrived locked under a time-based conversion.
- Implementation:Mainnet runtime running as Polkadot parachain 3396
- Release:public launch announced 2026-01-20
- Activation:live; Canary-to-Mainnet migration of balances is closed and the conversion pallet only allows unlocking
Sources: Acurast blog — Acurast Mainnet & TGE Are Live (external site) · Acurast Docs — Instances (Devnet, Canary and Mainnet) (external site) · Acurast Docs — Acurast Token (ACU): chains and token contracts (external site) · Acurast (GitHub) — Acurast Mainnet chain spec (acurast-mainnet-parachain-3396-raw.json) (external site) · Acurast Docs — From Canary To Mainnet: Overview (external site) · Acurast Docs — Post mortem: Acurast Token Conversion, replay of conversion messages (external site)
-
Archway publishes v10.1.1, a patch release for CometBFT's Tachyon flaw
The Archway team published release v10.1.1-tachyon-security-patch, whose notes say it moves Archway onto a patched CometBFT 0.38 build for a fix CometBFT would later ship in its 0.39 line. On 23 January 2026 CometBFT published the matching advisory, Tachyon, rated critical: a consensus flaw in how block time is derived, affecting CometBFT 0.38.20 and earlier, with any module or contract that relies on block time exposed. The release attaches ready-built programs, two of them named as carrying the fix, but the public source at that tag still pins CometBFT 0.38.17, so the fix cannot be checked from public code.
- Implementation:fix described in release notes and in the names of attached programs; not visible in the tagged source
- Release:published on GitHub 2026-01-20
- Activation:the Foundation node ran v10.1.0 and one sampled validator node ran v10.1.1 on 2026-09-27; presence of the fix on any node not verified
Sources: archway-network — v10.1.1-tachyon-security-patch (external site) · CometBFT (GitHub security advisory) — CSA-2026-001: Tachyon (external site) · archway-network/archway repository — Assets attached to release v10.1.1-tachyon-security-patch (external site) · archway-network/archway repository — go.mod at tag v10.1.1-tachyon-security-patch (external site) · Archway on-chain state via Archway Foundation REST endpoint — Archway node info (application and CometBFT versions) (external site) · Archway on-chain node metadata via MZONDER validator REST endpoint — MZONDER Archway node info (application and CometBFT versions) (external site)
-
Boba released op-node v1.16.5 with an op-geth security fix
Boba published op-node v1.16.5 on 20 January 2026. Its release note says the version matches a security fix in op-geth, pairs with op-geth v1.101605.0 and is a recommended upgrade for all operators. The upstream OP Stack notes also add checks on EIP-1559 fee settings while the node reads the chain. At review time Boba's node software page listed v1.16.5 as the op-node version for both Boba Mainnet and Boba Sepolia.
- Implementation:op-node v1.16.5 paired with op-geth v1.101605.0
- Release:released on GitHub 2026-01-20; marked Latest at review time
- Activation:no network-wide activation; takes effect on each node when its operator installs it
Sources: Boba Network on GitHub — op-node/v1.16.5 (external site) · Optimism (ethereum-optimism/optimism) — op-node/v1.16.5 (external site) · Boba Network Docs — Node Software Releases (external site) · Boba Network Docs — Preparing for Isthmus and Jovian breaking changes (external site) · Boba Network on GitHub — Release notes from boba (Atom feed) (external site)
-
Merlin schedules a mainnet RPC upgrade to cdk-erigon v2.0.3
Merlin scheduled a mainnet service upgrade starting 20 January 2026 at 15:00 UTC to move its Erigon-based RPC component to v2.0.3, with an estimated 48 to 72 hours of intermittent RPC availability. Exchanges were asked to pause Merlin deposits and withdrawals beforehand. The release notes list crash fixes for batch lookups and block receipts.
- Implementation:Released
- Release:cdk-erigon v2.0.3 published
- Activation:maintenance scheduled to start 2026-01-20 15:00 UTC; no follow-up notice confirming its completion was found, though Merlin's current mainnet node guide now specifies v2.0.3
Sources: Merlin Chain Documentation — erigon-rpc: v2.0.2 to v2.0.3 (external site) · Merlin Chain (GitHub) — cdk-erigon v2.0.3 (external site) · Merlin Chain Documentation — Maintenance & Upgrade Guidelines (external site) · Merlin Chain Documentation — Deploy an erigon rpc for mainnet (external site)
-
Neo-CLI v3.9.0 scheduled the Faun hard fork on Neo N3
Neo announced Neo-CLI v3.9.0 for TestNet and MainNet with a hard fork at mainnet block 8,800,000 (TestNet 12,960,000). It adds a Treasury native contract, a committee whitelist for fee-free contract methods, BIP-32 and BIP-39 wallet support, a REST server plugin and new hash functions. The node source gates changes to account blocking, including recovery of funds from accounts blocked for a year, on the same fork, which the mainnet configuration names Faun. A hotfix the next day (core release v3.9.1; Neo's notice calls it Neo-CLI v3.9.2) fixed how accounts already blocked at the fork are recorded.
- Implementation:released in Neo-CLI v3.9.0
- Release:released January 2026
- Activation:scheduled for mainnet block 8,800,000; the activation block itself was not observed in this review
Sources: Neo — Neo-CLI v3.9.0 TestNet and MainNet Upgrade Notice (external site) · Neo — Neo-CLI v3.9.2 TestNet and MainNet Upgrade Notice (external site) · neo-project/neo maintainers — neo v3.9.0 release (external site) · neo-project/neo maintainers — neo v3.9.1 release (external site) · neo-project/neo-node maintainers — Neo-CLI mainnet configuration (external site) · neo-project/neo maintainers — PolicyContract.cs (native Policy contract) (external site)
-
Noble announces a move to a separate EVM layer 1
Noble said it would migrate to a standalone EVM chain built with Commonware, Reth and Simplex consensus, with a proof-of-authority validator set, permissionless contracts and a planned mainnet on 18 March 2026. USDN and a stablecoin exchange were to move there, NOBLE would be its governance token, and the Cosmos chain would move to maintenance mode with IBC connections kept.
- Proposal:announced by Noble; no token vote applies
- Implementation:not confirmed; no public network or documentation found by 2026-09-27
- Release:planned mainnet date 2026-03-18 not confirmed
- Activation:not confirmed
Sources: Noble — A New Noble World (external site) · Noble — NOBLE Token Airdrop: How to Start Your Claims Process (external site) · Noble public REST endpoint — Noble node software version (on-chain query) (external site)
-
RVN block subsidy halved to 1,250 RVN at block 4,200,000
The scheduled second halving took effect at block 4,200,000, which the Blockbook explorer timestamps 18 January 2026: that block's coinbase paid 1,250 RVN plus fees, down from 2,500 RVN. The rule has been in Ravencoin Core since launch: the 5,000 RVN starting subsidy halves every 2,100,000 blocks.
- Implementation:part of the issuance schedule since launch
- Release:no new release required
- Activation:in effect from block 4,200,000
Sources: blockbook.ravencoin.org — Blockbook: Ravencoin block 4,200,000 (external site) · RavenProject — Ravencoin Core validation.cpp (develop) (external site) · RavenProject — Ravencoin Core chainparams.cpp (develop) (external site)
-
Emergency node release 1.23.3 patched a CometBFT vulnerability
SCRT Labs published node software 1.23.3 as an emergency release with a fix for a vulnerability in CometBFT, the consensus engine Secret shares with other Cosmos chains. Two days later the team said on the forum that an expedited on-chain proposal (340) had been submitted to move mainnet to this version, and that the flaw affected several Cosmos chains rather than Secret alone. Neither the release notes nor the forum notice name the vulnerability.
- Proposal:expedited proposal 340 submitted (forum notice 2026-01-19); outcome not read in this pass
- Implementation:fix included in node release 1.23.3
- Release:published 2026-01-17 in the scrtlabs repository
- Activation:not confirmed in this pass; no chain endpoint was read
Sources: scrtlabs/SecretNetwork maintainers — SecretNetwork v1.23.3 release notes (external site) · Secret Network Forum (SCRT Labs post) — Expedited Upgrade to 1.23.3 (external site)
-
BounceBit announced the Ignition chain upgrade with proof of authority and 0.5-second blocks
BounceBit announced Ignition, a chain upgrade that would use the Clique proof-of-authority engine with 0.5-second blocks, EIP-1559 fees, a 30 million gas limit and RPC limits, to prepare for a perpetual-futures product. The post promised a separate operator post and gave no activation date.
- Proposal:announced by BounceBit
- Implementation:no activation found
- Release:no matching node release found; newest listed release is v1.6.2 from February 2025
- Activation:not activated before the chain was halted in August 2026
Sources: BounceBit — The Chain Upgrade That Raises BounceBit's Ceiling: Ignition (external site) · BounceBit Labs — bouncebit-chain-node releases (external site) · Crypto Briefing — BounceBit shuts down chain after attacker moves 286.5 million BB (external site)
-
Sui mainnet stalled for about six hours after a consensus bug
On 14 January 2026 an edge-case bug in consensus commit logic led validators to derive different commit outputs, so checkpoints could not be certified and the network halted for about six hours of user-visible disruption. Sui reports that no certified state fork occurred, no certified transaction was rolled back and no funds were lost; a fix was rolled out through canary validators and then the full set.
- Implementation:fix implemented to purge incorrect consensus data
- Release:fix deployed to canary validators, then to the validator set
- Activation:checkpoint certification resumed once a quorum signed the same checkpoint digest
Source: Sui Foundation blog — Sui mainnet network stall resolution (external site)
-
Node software release v1.0.0-beta.17 patched a Geth denial-of-service flaw
Immutable released immutable-geth v1.0.0-beta.17, which brings in the upstream Geth fix for CVE-2026-22868, a moderate-severity flaw where a crafted peer-to-peer message could cause high CPU use. The release also added build attestations to the published images.
- Implementation:upstream Geth fix brought in (release note item: Address CVE-2026-22868)
- Release:v1.0.0-beta.17 published
- Activation:no network upgrade involved; applies when each operator updates
Sources: Immutable (GitHub) — immutable-geth v1.0.0-beta.17 (external site) · go-ethereum (GitHub security advisory) — DoS via malicious p2p message (CVE-2026-22868) (external site)
-
Celestia announced Fibre, a validator-run data path, now on testnet
Celestia's blog introduced Fibre, a data protocol validators run alongside the existing chain: users encode a blob, send pieces to validators, collect their signatures and post the commitment to Celestia. It accepts blobs from 256 KB to 128 MB. The headline rate came from a networking-layer test on cloud machines. celestia-app v10 with Fibre activated on the Mocha testnet on 2026-09-24; no mainnet date was given.
- Proposal:CIP-051 (Fibre Protocol) listed in the CIP index
- Implementation:included in celestia-app v10 testnet builds
- Release:testnet only (Mocha)
- Activation:not active on Mainnet Beta as of 2026-09-27
Sources: Celestia blog — Introducing Fibre (external site) · Celestia Docs — Network upgrades (external site) · celestiaorg — celestia-app releases (external site) · Celestia Improvement Proposals — Celestia Improvement Proposals index (external site)
-
Neuron v0.204.0 bundles CKB node v0.204.0 and light client v0.5.4
The official desktop wallet updated its bundled full node to CKB v0.204.0 and its bundled light client to v0.5.4, and moved its assumed-valid block forward. The release notes warn that the app identifier changed, so automatic updates may fail.
- Implementation:Released
- Release:v0.204.0 published 2026-01-12; v0.204.1 followed on 2026-04-10
- Activation:available to users
Sources: Nervos Network (nervosnetwork/neuron) — Neuron v0.204.0 (external site) · Nervos Network (nervosnetwork/neuron) — Neuron CHANGELOG (external site)
-
Bitcoin Cash Node v29.0.0 released for the May 2026 network upgrade
Bitcoin Cash Node released v29.0.0, which implements the 15 May 2026 upgrade: standard pay-to-script outputs, bounded loops, function definition and invocation, and re-enabled bitwise operations. The project called upgrading before 15 May mandatory for its users.
- Proposal:four CHIPs included in the 2026-05-15 upgrade specification
- Implementation:implemented in Bitcoin Cash Node v29.0.0
- Release:released 2026-01-09
- Activation:activated on mainnet at the 2026-05-15 12:00 UTC median-time rule; first block under the new rules is 951,145 per Bitcoin Cash Node source
Sources: Bitcoin Cash Node — Announcing Bitcoin Cash Node v29.0.0 (external site) · Bitcoin Cash Node (GitHub) — Bitcoin Cash Node release 29.0.0 (external site) · Bitcoin Cash Node — Bitcoin Cash Node v29.0.0 release notes (external site) · Bitcoin Cash upgrade specifications (Bitcoin Cash Node) — 2026-MAY-15 Network Upgrade Specification (external site) · Bitcoin Cash Node — Bitcoin Cash Node v29.1.0 release notes (external site) · Bitcoin Cash Node — chainparams.cpp (Bitcoin Cash Node source) (external site)
-
MEV Auction went live on mainnet under KIP-249
Kaia announced that its MEV Auction went live on mainnet on 18 December 2025. Searchers bid in sealed bids through an auctioneer for a backrun slot placed directly after a target transaction; the proposing consensus node includes the winning transaction, and bids are paid into a governance-controlled vault. Consensus node support shipped in node v2.1.0 on 28 October 2025, which needed no hard fork.
- Proposal:KIP-249, status Draft on the KIP site
- Implementation:shipped in Kaia v2.1.0
- Release:v2.1.0 released 2025-10-28; no hard fork
- Activation:live on mainnet since 2025-12-18, per Kaia
Sources: Kaia Blog — Kaia MEV Auction Launch & Bid Fee Reimbursement Program (external site) · Kaia (GitHub) — Kaia v2.1.0 Release Notice (external site) · Kaia Improvement Proposals — KIP-249: Slot-Based Auction on Kaia (external site)
-
StarkWare reported a mainnet halt and an 18-minute reorg on 5 January 2026
A sequencer execution bug around reverted nested calls produced an incorrect result. StarkWare dropped 18 minutes of activity (09:24 to 09:42 UTC), paused sequencing until 14:17 UTC, deployed a fix, and said the proving layer stopped the faulty execution from reaching Ethereum.
- Implementation:fix deployed on 2026-01-05; further prevention measures announced
- Release:incident report published
- Activation:network restored at 14:17 UTC on 2026-01-05
Source: Starknet — Starknet Incident Report - January 5, 2026 (external site)
-
Fermi hard fork announced, cutting BSC block time to 0.45 seconds
BNB Chain announced the Fermi hard fork for 14 January 2026 at 02:30 UTC with client v1.6.4. It shortened the block interval from 0.75 to 0.45 seconds and bundled extended fast-finality voting rules, block-level access lists, incremental snapshots and an EVM execution optimization.
- Proposal:BEP-590, BEP-592, BEP-593, BEP-610 and BEP-619
- Implementation:shipped in client v1.6.4 with a v1.6.5 follow-up
- Release:mandatory mainnet release
- Activation:activated on mainnet 2026-01-14 02:30 UTC; 0.45-second blocks described as current in later sources
Sources: BNB Chain Blog — Fermi Hard Fork Accelerates BSC to 0.45-Second Block Times (external site) · BNB Chain Docs — Fermi Hardfork (BSC) (external site) · BNB Chain Blog — Osaka/Mendel Hard Fork: Strengthening BNB Chain After Sub-Second Speed Gains (external site) · BNB Chain Docs — Introduction - BSC Develop (external site)
-
SV Node 1.2.0 released with the Chronicle hard fork
The BSV Association released SV Node 1.2.0, a hard fork called Chronicle. It restores eight opcodes, introduces two more, adds an optional original signature digest selected by a new CHRONICLE flag, raises the script number limit to 32 MB, and drops malleability checks for transactions with a version above 1. Activation was set for testnet block 1,713,168 (target 14 January 2026) and mainnet block 943,816 (target 7 April 2026). Version 1.2.1 followed on 30 March 2026 as a mandatory fix release.
- Implementation:shipped in SV Node 1.2.0; fixes in the mandatory 1.2.1
- Release:mandatory upgrade before the activation height
- Activation:scheduled for mainnet block 943,816; the chain was past that height at review (968,924 on 2026-09-29)
Sources: BSV Association (GitHub) — Bitcoin SV Version 1.2.0 release notes (Chronicle) (external site) · BSV Association (GitHub) — Bitcoin SV Version 1.2.1 release notes (external site) · BSV Skills Center (BSV Association) — Chronicle Release (external site) · BSV Association (GitHub) — SV Node chainparams.cpp (external site) · Allnodes (PublicNode), powered by the BSV Association — PublicNode BSV mainnet JSON-RPC (read 2026-09-29) (external site) · BSV Association (GitHub) — SV Node interpreter.cpp: Chronicle opcode and malleability rules (external site)
-
Merlin closes legacy Merlin's Seal unstaking and MERL airdrop claims
Merlin announced that, as of 2026, it no longer accepts new Merlin's Seal unstaking requests or MERL airdrop claims, nearly two years after the 2024 staking event. Requests already submitted continue to be processed, and the related channels are closed permanently.
- Implementation:Announced
- Release:not a software release
- Activation:closed to new requests as of the announcement
Sources: Merlin Chain — Merlin Chain on Medium (RSS feed) (external site) · Merlin Chain Documentation — What is M-Token? (external site)
-
XDPoSChain v2.6.8 activated EIP-1559 transactions at block 98,800,200 and the Cancun instruction set 1,800 blocks later
XinFinOrg released node version 2.6.8, a consensus-breaking upgrade that enabled EIP-1559 transactions and the Cancun EVM instruction set, added blob-hash and KZG support, and applied CertiK audit fixes. Its notes told operators to upgrade before block 98,800,200, which XDCScan dates to 30 January 2026 at 12:45 UTC with a 12.5 gwei base fee. The notes name that block for Cancun too, but the release's mainnet configuration switches Cancun on at block 98,802,000, about an hour later.
- Proposal:EIP-1559 support was announced for the Apothem testnet in February 2025
- Implementation:shipped in XDPoSChain v2.6.8
- Release:mandatory mainnet upgrade
- Activation:EIP-1559 active on mainnet since block 98,800,200 and Cancun since block 98,802,000, both on 30 January 2026
Sources: XinFinOrg (GitHub) — XDPoSChain v2.6.8 release notes (external site) · XinFinOrg (GitHub) — common/constants.mainnet.go at v2.6.8 (external site) · Developers Forum for XinFin XDC Network — XDC Network v2.6.8: The Cancun Upgrade Goes Live on Mainnet (external site) · XDCScan (Etherscan) — XDCScan block 98800200 (external site) · XinFinOrg (GitHub) — common/gas.go at v2.7.1 (external site) · XDC Network Documentation — Announcement (external site)
-
Aurora DAO approved rotating its 13 council seats
A forum proposal to refresh the Aurora DAO council while keeping 13 seats is marked approved. Proposed members include the NEAR Foundation, Aurora Labs, NEAR One, HOT Wallet, HAPI, two Virtual Chain projects and early investors, matching the members now listed on Aurora's DAO page.
- Proposal:Approved
- Implementation:council list on Aurora's DAO page matches the proposal
- Release:not applicable
- Activation:reflected on the DAO page as of 2026-09-27
Sources: Aurora Forum — [Approved] Rotating the Composition of Aurora DAO Councils (external site) · Aurora — Aurora DAO (external site)
-
Flow published its post-mortem of the December 2025 Cadence exploit
Flow explained that a type-confusion flaw in Cadence 1.8.8 let an attacker duplicate tokens, that about USD 3.9 million left through bridges before validators halted the network, and that an isolated recovery restricted 1,060 accounts and destroyed the counterfeits instead of rolling the chain back.
- Implementation:patched in Cadence 1.8.9 and later
- Release:remediation completed per Flow
- Activation:network resumed 2025-12-29
Sources: Flow Foundation — Dec 27 Technical Post-Mortem (external site) · Flow Foundation — Final remediation update regarding the Flow security incident (external site)
-
Scheduled block reward step to 6 ERG
Ergo Platform announced that the block reward fell from 9 to 6 ERG per block on 3 January 2026, part of the scheduled quarterly 3 ERG steps; explorer data shows the change at block 1,692,000. The announcement said a final step to a 3 ERG floor would follow in April 2026, and that step is recorded separately.
- Proposal:part of the original schedule as amended by EIP-27
- Implementation:built into consensus rules
- Release:no release needed
- Activation:active from block 1,692,000 per explorer data; superseded at block 1,756,800
Sources: Ergo Platform — Ergo Platform news (external site) · Ergo Platform (explorer API) — Ergo Explorer API: blocks 1,691,999 to 1,692,001 (external site) · ErgoDocs (Ergo Platform) — Ergo Emission Schedule (external site) · ErgoDocs (Ergo Platform) — EIP27: Emission Retargeting Soft-Fork (external site)
-
CIP-0096 approved: validator liveness rewards phased down to zero by 30 April 2026
Super Validators approved CIP-0096, which lowered the cap on rewards validators earned just for being online in stages until it reached zero on 30 April 2026. Canton's tokenomics docs now say activity rewards, earned in proportion to the Canton Coin a validator's users burn, are the only way validators mint CC.
- Proposal:CIP-0096 approved on 2025-12-31
- Implementation:CIP-0096 specifies four on-chain Super Validator votes lowering the validator liveness reward cap in stages; the individual votes were not checked
- Release:configuration change voted on the ledger; no software release required
- Activation:cap at zero effective 2026-04-30, per Canton's tokenomics docs
Sources: Canton Foundation (CIPs repository) — CIP-0096: Removing Liveness Rewards from Validator Rewards Pool (external site) · Canton Network Docs — Canton Coin Tokenomics (external site) · Canton Network Docs — Tokenomics of the Global Synchronizer (external site)
-
Kava v0.28.1 fixes Ledger device detection
Kava Labs published v0.28.1 and described it as an optional, non-breaking release. It updates the library the kava software uses to talk to Ledger hardware wallets (zondax/ledger-go, from v0.14.3 to v1.0.0) to fix problems detecting a device the notes call the Nano Plus. The notes say people who do not use a Ledger do not need it.
- Implementation:Ledger library updated
- Release:released 29 December 2025; followed by v0.28.2 on 23 January 2026
- Activation:no network activation; optional install for Ledger users
Sources: Kava-Labs/kava on GitHub — Kava v0.28.1 release notes (external site) · Kava-Labs/kava on GitHub — Kava node software releases (Atom feed) (external site)
-
Move Industries took over operations and the foundation said the Layer 1 switch was complete
The Movement Network Foundation announced that Move Industries now holds primary operating responsibility for the network on its behalf, and said the network had completed its transition to a sovereign Layer 1 with validator-based consensus and MOVE staking.
- Proposal:operating change first announced in May 2025
- Implementation:operating change completed per the announcement
- Release:Layer 1 transition stated as complete
- Activation:exact cut-over date not stated in the announcement
Sources: Movement Network — Movement Network Foundation and Move Industries Announce Completion of Operating Change (external site) · Movement mainnet public API — Mainnet REST API: transaction at version 39268531 (epoch schedule change) (external site) · Movement Docs — Validator Node (external site)
-
Governance cut OKT Chain's active validator cap from 21 to 7
Four on-chain governance proposals between 24 and 29 December 2025 lowered the maximum number of bonded validators from 21 to 20, 16, 10 and finally 7. Each passed within about two minutes of submission with roughly 70% of voting power in favour.
- Proposal:passed on-chain (proposals 107 to 110)
- Implementation:parameter changes applied through governance
- Release:no software release required
- Activation:active; seven bonded validators observed on 2026-09-27
Sources: OKX public node — OKT Chain governance proposals (external site) · OKX public node — OKT Chain staking parameters (external site) · OKX public node — OKT Chain Tendermint validator set (external site)
-
Mantle released the Limb upgrade to support Ethereum's Fusaka changes
Mantle's 1.4.2 release scheduled the Limb upgrade for Mantle Mainnet on 14 January 2026 at 07:00 UTC. Limb brought Ethereum's Osaka execution changes to Mantle, such as the new CLZ opcode and precompile changes, and updated the batcher, node and proof pipeline for the blob format Ethereum uses after Fusaka. Mantle said it did not change fees and had no impact on ordinary users.
- Implementation:released as 1.4.2
- Release:1.4.2 Mainnet Limb
- Activation:scheduled for 2026-01-14 07:00 UTC; Mantle's September 2026 release describes the chain as running on Osaka rules
Sources: Mantle (GitHub) — 1.4.2 Mainnet Limb (external site) · Mantle Network Documentation — Limb Upgrade: Ensuring Mantle's Compatibility with Fusaka (external site) · Mantle (GitHub) — 1.6.3 Elysium (external site)
-
Ideal staking ratio lowered from 75% to 50% by runtime upgrade
After AIP 8 was posted on 15 December 2025, the Technical Committee approved, by four of seven signers, a runtime upgrade lowering the ideal_stake parameter of the staking reward curve from 75% to 50%, scheduled for block 2,329,375. The same AIP raised the commission the Avail Foundation accepts for its nominations from 15% to 20%, a policy change rather than a protocol one.
- Proposal:AIP 8 posted on the forum 2025-12-15
- Implementation:in node release v2.3.4.2; the runtime reward curve now reads 50%
- Release:runtime upgrade approved by the Technical Committee
- Activation:scheduled for block 2,329,375 per Transparency Report 19; the current runtime source keeps 50%
Sources: Avail Forum — AIP 8: Change Ideal Staking Ratio to 50% and Update to Foundation Delegation Commission Policy (external site) · Avail Forum — Transparency Report 19: Change ideal_stake to 50% (external site) · Avail Project (GitHub) — Avail node v2.3.4.2 release notes (external site) · Avail Project (GitHub) — runtime/src/constants.rs (main branch) (external site)
-
Core published a 2026 roadmap
A Core post lists plans for 2026, including chain upgrades aimed at sub-second block times and finality, liquid staking tokens for BTC, markets that pair BTC and CORE stakers, and term-based staking. It also says current CORE emissions are about 2.5% of circulating supply a year and that the Hermes upgrade is complete.
- Proposal:announced roadmap
- Implementation:not observed
- Release:no dates given
- Activation:no listed item confirmed live as of this review
-
Move Industries announced Movement's Layer 1 mainnet live
Move Industries said Movement had migrated from an Ethereum layer 2 to a sovereign Layer 1 with its own validator-based consensus and MOVE staking, and that funds, contracts and activity carried over without users or developers having to act.
- Proposal:Layer 1 described as under development in the October 2025 MiCA white paper
- Implementation:migration completed per Move Industries
- Release:announced live 2025-12-22
- Activation:exact cut-over time not stated in the announcement
Sources: Move Industries via GlobeNewswire — Movement's M1 Mainnet Goes Live: The People's Chain Is Here (external site) · Movement Network Foundation — MOVE crypto-asset white paper under MiCA (external site) · Movement mainnet public API — Mainnet REST API: transaction at version 39268531 (epoch schedule change) (external site) · Movement Docs — Validator Node (external site) · Movement Docs — Bridge (external site)
-
The Reactor upgrade (initiad v1.2.2) passed and was applied
Proposal 64 passed on 2025-12-19 and the upgrade plan is recorded on chain as applied at height 11,270,000. It bundled attested IBC for rollup withdrawals, a single-sequencer block engine for rollups, forwarding accounts with memos, and a way for governance to move pre-allocated rewards into the community pool.
- Proposal:passed (proposal 64)
- Implementation:released as v1.2.2
- Release:released 2025-11-25
- Activation:applied on mainnet at height 11,270,000
Sources: Initia L1 governance (on-chain record) — Proposal 64: The Reactor Upgrade (external site) · Initia Forum — The Reactor Upgrade (external site) · Initia Labs public REST endpoint — Applied upgrade plan v1.2.2 (external site) · initia-labs on GitHub — Release v1.2.2 (external site) · Initia Labs public REST endpoint — Live rollup bridge records (external site)
-
ONG's cap cut from 1 billion to 800 million by the v3.0.0 upgrade
After Triones nodes voted from 28 to 31 October 2025 (117 million votes for, none against), Ontology shipped v3.0.0, which burns 200 million not-yet-released ONG from mainnet height 19,500,000 and releases the rest at 1 ONG per second over about 19 years in total. On 19 December Ontology said the cap change was live on mainnet. It also said 80% of new ONG goes to ONT stakers and 20% plus fees to a permanently locked ONT-ONG liquidity pool.
- Proposal:approved by Triones node vote, 28 to 31 October 2025
- Implementation:shipped in ontology v3.0.0
- Release:v2.7.0 for consensus nodes and v3.0.0 for all nodes, released 27 November 2025
- Activation:Ontology said on 19 December 2025 that the cap is live; the burn is enabled from mainnet height 19,500,000; supply was not read from the chain
Sources: Ontology News — ONG Tokenomics Adjustment: ONG Is Now Capped at 800 Million (external site) · Ontology News — ONG Tokenomics Adjustment Proposal Passes Governance Vote (external site) · Ontology News — Ontology MainNet Upgrade Announcement (external site) · Ontology (GitHub) — ontology v3.0.0 release (external site) · Ontology (GitHub) — Commit 60be4c5: burn 20% ONG (external site) · Ontology News — Letter from the Founder: Ontology's MainNet Upgrade (external site)
-
v1.17.2 mainnet patch released: fee-collector fees redirected to the auction module, plus exchange and EVM fixes
Injective published v1.17.2 as a mainnet patch upgrade on 17 December 2025. Its release notes say proposal 603 would halt the chain at block 146,295,000, around 14:00 UTC on 18 December 2025, and restart it on v1.17.2. The changelog lists one feature, sending all fees meant for the fee collector to the auction module, and fixes to futures settlement, exchange validation, Ledger signing in the command-line tool and EVM log indexes.
- Proposal:proposal 603 set the halt at block 146,295,000; its vote result was not read from a primary governance record in this review
- Implementation:v1.17.2 node and Peggo binaries published; open-source commit c7b042e dated 18 December 2025
- Release:released 17 December 2025
- Activation:scheduled for block 146,295,000 (about 14:00 UTC, 18 December 2025); activation not confirmed from a primary chain or governance record here
Sources: InjectiveLabs/injective-chain-releases on GitHub — Injective v1.17.2 Mainnet Patch Upgrade (release notes) (external site) · InjectiveFoundation/injective-core on GitHub — injective-core CHANGELOG (tag v1.20.3-safeharbor.2) (external site) · InjectiveFoundation/injective-core on GitHub — injective-core commit c7b042e: Release of new version (v1.17.2) (external site) · InjectiveLabs/injective-chain-releases on GitHub — injective-chain-releases releases (external site)
-
USDCx launched on Stacks through Circle xReserve
A USDC-backed dollar token, USDCx, went live on Stacks, issued through Circle's xReserve and moving between Ethereum and Stacks at launch. Circle describes it as issued by Stacks, not as Circle-issued USDC.
- Implementation:Deployed
- Release:live on mainnet
- Activation:Ethereum route live at launch; other chains were on the roadmap
Sources: Stacks Labs — USDCx Launches on Stacks (external site) · Circle — USDCx on Stacks now available via Circle xReserve (external site) · Circle — xReserve (external site)
-
Message bridge between Neo N3 and Neo X went live
Neo announced a message bridge that carries arbitrary messages between Neo N3 and Neo X, including contract calls, callbacks, relayed results and store-only messages, with contracts deployed on both chains and developer SDKs. It complements the existing token bridge; reaching other EVM chains was described as a future direction.
- Implementation:contracts deployed on both chains, per the announcement
- Release:announced as live
- Activation:live per the announcement; usage not measured
Sources: Neo — Introducing the Message Bridge on the Neo Ecosystem (external site) · Neo X documentation — Native bridge architecture (external site)
-
CKB node v0.204.0 adds proxy and Tor onion support
The CKB full node release added support for routing peer connections through a proxy and for running as a Tor onion service, along with asynchronous relay messaging and compression improvements. It is not a consensus change.
- Implementation:Released
- Release:v0.204.0 published 2025-12-15
- Activation:not a consensus change; opt-in configuration
Sources: Nervos Network (nervosnetwork/ckb) — CKB v0.204.0 (external site) · Nervos Network (nervosnetwork/ckb) — CKB CHANGELOG (external site) · Nervos Network docs — Run a Node Over Tor (external site)
-
Peer-to-peer relay networking launched on mainnet as an opt-in mode
The Foundation's 2025 roadmap review said peer-to-peer networking launched on mainnet in December 2025 as an opt-in feature, letting nodes connect to automatically discovered, permissionless relays as well as the known, permissioned relays. The node documentation recommends a hybrid mode but leaves peer-to-peer off by default.
- Implementation:peer-to-peer and hybrid modes available in node configuration
- Release:launched on mainnet in December 2025, per the Foundation
- Activation:opt-in; off by default
Sources: Algorand Foundation — 2025 on Algorand: Roadmap progress (external site) · Algorand Developer Portal — Configuring P2P (external site)
-
Gnosis Chain scheduled a hard fork to move funds frozen after the Balancer exploit
After most validators ran a soft fork in November 2025 that blocked an attacker's address following the Balancer exploit, a Gnosis contributor announced on the GnosisDAO forum a hard fork for 22 December 2025 at 16:11:40 UTC to move the frozen funds to a recovery Safe multisig, with required client versions for all eight clients.
- Proposal:announced on the GnosisDAO forum after the November soft fork
- Implementation:client releases listed in the announcement
- Release:Released
- Activation:activated in December 2025 per the April 2026 Fusaka announcement
Sources: GnosisDAO forum — Balancer Hack Hard Fork (external site) · Gnosis Chain Validator Newsletter (GC Comms Team) — Gnosis Chain - Fusaka Hard Fork Announcement (external site)
-
Jello hardfork turned on zero-knowledge fault proofs on Celo mainnet
The Jello upgrade activated OP Succinct Lite on Celo mainnet, adding zero-knowledge proofs for dispute resolution, a proof-checked bridge for EigenDA data, and an initial set of six whitelisted challengers (five independent, one run by cLabs).
- Proposal:approved as CGP-265
- Implementation:Ethereum contract changes executed by the Security Council
- Release:released; no client upgrade required
- Activation:active on mainnet since 10 December 2025
Sources: Celo Forum (cLabs) — Jello Hardfork Successfully Activates on Mainnet, Introducing OP Succinct Lite (external site) · Celo Documentation — Jello upgrade (external site)
-
System contract release adds weighted guild voting and a variable number of producers
WAX tagged system contract release wax-3.2.0, whose notes list an RNG stipend paid from inflation, standby guilds paid from the system contract, weighted producer voting and a variable number of producers. The repository's architecture notes describe the weighting as votes multiplied by a score from the guilds.oig contract, and the producer count as adjustable between 1 and 21, one step at a time with a cooldown that defaults to one day. A later tag, wax-3.3.0 (7 February 2026), changed the producer and savings inflation shares from 1 and 2 percent to 1.5 and 1.5 percent, minus the RNG stipend.
- Implementation:tagged in wax-system-contracts
- Release:GitHub releases wax-3.2.0 and wax-3.3.0 published, both marked as pre-releases; wax-3.2.2 (4 January 2026) is the only release in between marked as a full release
- Activation:not confirmed by code hash; the eight-guild schedule read on 2026-09-29 indicates that variable producer counts are active on mainnet (inference)
Sources: WAX (GitHub) — wax-system-contracts release wax-3.2.0 (external site) · WAX (GitHub) — wax-system-contracts release wax-3.3.0 (external site) · WAX (GitHub) — wax-system-contracts releases (external site) · WAX (wax-system-contracts GitHub) — WAX extensions to eosio.system: architecture overview (external site) · Greymass (public WAX API node) — WAX Chain API get_producer_schedule via wax.greymass.com (external site)
-
Avail Nexus launched on mainnet as an intent-based cross-chain service
Avail announced that Avail Nexus is live on mainnet. Nexus takes one signed request (an intent) from a user, collects funds in vault contracts on several source chains and has a solver deliver the result on a destination chain. It runs between other chains, not on Avail DA itself, and the launch post said unified verification backed by Avail DA was still coming.
- Implementation:live on mainnet per Avail
- Release:announced as live on 2025-12-09
- Activation:in use on supported chains; Avail DA consensus unchanged
Sources: Avail Blog — Avail Nexus Mainnet is Live: New Era for Web3 Apps (external site) · Avail Docs — What are Solvers? (Avail Nexus) (external site) · Avail Docs — How Intents are Processed (Avail Nexus) (external site)
-
Horizen Mainnet launched as a Layer 3 on Base
Horizen launched its OP Stack mainnet settling to Base, run on Caldera's rollup service, completing its move from a standalone proof-of-work chain. ZEN had already migrated to Base as an ERC-20 in July 2025.
- Implementation:mainnet deployed
- Release:Released
- Activation:live since 9 December 2025
Sources: Horizen Blog — Welcome to Privacy on Base (external site) · Horizen Blog — Horizen Partners with Caldera to Launch Privacy-first Blockchain on Base (external site) · Horizen Blog — Horizen 2025 Year in Review (external site)
-
Governance enabled Zaptos in the Aptos consensus configuration
An on-chain proposal to enable Zaptos in the consensus configuration, and to skip generating randomness when a block does not need it, was executed on mainnet. Zaptos (AIP-132) runs block execution, state certification and storage alongside ordering so that less work remains after a block is ordered, with the aim of lowering end-to-end latency.
- Proposal:AIP-132 marked Draft
- Implementation:enabled through an on-chain consensus configuration change
- Release:delivered by governance proposal 163
- Activation:executed on mainnet 2025-12-08 per the governance page
Sources: Aptos Governance (Aptos Foundation) — Proposal to enable zaptos in consensus config, enable skipping generating randomness if not needed (external site) · Aptos Foundation AIPs — AIP-132: Zaptos - the latency optimal blockchain architecture (external site)